by

Romance Novels for Your Reading Pleasure

For fans of Jenny Han and Kevin Kwan, romance novels in the YA, thriller, and romcom categories hit the shelves this spring. ...

Read More →

by

AAPI Organizers Turn Out the Vote in Georgia

Led by young, women and nonbinary organizers, Asians for Ossoff & Warnock helped flipped the Senate by activating their communities and flexing their...

Read More →

by

JS Lee and “Everyone Was Falling” Before the 2016 Election

JS Lee’s latest novel “Everyone Was Falling” takes readers back four years ago. She shares her experience as a transracial adoptee during the pandemic...

Read More →

by

Po-Shen Loh Takes Action by Developing a COVID Tracking App

Po-Shen Loh applies his skills as a mathematician and social entrepreneur to tackle a piece of the pandemic. He explains how to use your skills for good and...

Read More →

by

Should you #BoycottMulan? Disappointments, Misrepresentation, and Controversies

A live-action remake has the opportunity to be groundbreaking in and of itself. It could update the original by removing harmful stereotypes, introduce a cast...

Read More →

by

Xana Tang Takes Risks and Rewards

Due to the pandemic that created a wave of anti-China sentiments and shut down movie theaters, the release of Disney’s live-action “Mulan” (2020) was...

Read More →

by

Nelson Lee Transforms Chi-Fu into The Chancellor

Nelson Lee keeps a low profile. Before “Mulan,” Lee appeared in the TV series “Blade” as Shen, the eponymous Marvel hero’s weaponsmith, and in...

Read More →

by

Actor Chen Tang on Masculinity, “Mulan,” and the Military

The most recognizable Chinese legend in the U.S. has to be Mulan, a tale that has been retold many times. In the story of Mulan, originally a lyrical poem, a...

Read More →

by

Meet the Filipino Women Activists of GABRIELA

For the women of GABRIELA, resistance and community are one.  On March 7, 2020, the Los Angeles chapter of GABRIELA joined the International Women’s Day...

Read More →

by

Leonardo Nam Reflects on His Journey from Teenage Roles to “Westworld”

Before vampires and tragic romances, there were wholesome movies starring teens doing regular teen things: taking the SAT and having epic summers, for example....

Read More →

Close Search Window
Close